View Cart

CONTACT US

(918) 478-5500
WE ARE HERE TO HELP!
Get answers and savings at Ear Plug Superstore

4.4
71 Reviews
5
72% (51)
4
10% (7)
3
7% (5)
2
6% (4)
1
6% (4)
8% Recommend this product (6 of 71 responses)
By Crabman
MD
Uncomfortable to wear (too large)
August 22, 2021
Uncomfortable to wear for long periods (too large). Should have two ear sizes available.
ProsAllows normal speech to be heard
ConsUncomfortable
By Jimmy C.
upstate NY
Not The Same
April 9, 2021
About 25 years ago I bought a pair of the North Sonic II shooter's plugs at a Walmart. I use them exclusively as hearing protection during band gigs and practices. I'm the drummer and at this point really can't play without them. My local Walmarts haven't carried them for years and I assumed they'd been discontinued. But still I wanted a backup pair or two for mine. I saw these on your site touted as being " a direct replacement for the old North Sonic Valve II" so of course I grabbed two pair. I tried them at our next band practice and was pleasantly surprised that sonically they seemed great, the same level of protection and sound quality. So that was good. The bad thing and what makes them unusable for me was the material the plugs are now made of. It is much stiffer and has way less "give" than my originals. Therefore, after just over an hour of using them, my ear canals were both extremely sore and painful to the point I had to remove them and take a break while the pain eased and I could insert my old standbys. It's too bad but these won't work for me and will join other failed kinds I've tried, in my junk drawer.
ProsGood decibel lowering. Good clarity of sound with little muffling.
ConsCaused pain to my ear canals during use.
By Carlos
Philadelphia
great product you can still hear everything and protect your ears.
March 5, 2021
great!!!!
By updateCategoryParent
Work well
January 27, 2021
I replaced a pair of the old sonic II that I had used for hunting and shooting for years
By Mike
San Diego
They may work if you can get them in your ear
January 13, 2021
I used ear valves years ago but these really don't fit and are painful. They don't fit my wife either.
ProsNot expensive
ConsToo painful to use
By WT
Georgia
Excellent product good price
November 19, 2020
These are better than the older ones I use. They fit perfectly, block the gunfire noise, and are extremely easy to clean. The price was very reasonable, and the buying and receiving time was great. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
By Lou
Troy, PA
Ear Plugs
October 28, 2020
I bought these, 2 sets, because I was looking to replace the old sonic ear plugs that apparently are no longer available. I used the old plugs underneath ear muffs when shooting clay birds and centerfire rifles and pistols for extended periods of time.. I have not yet used these while using firearms so I can't comment on how efficient the valve works. I tried using them while running a chain saw and they seemed to work as advertised. My problem is they are stiff and hurt my ears after only a few minutes of use. Maybe my ears are more sensitive than most but I can't wear these. Dealing with your organization was really good and the service was excellent. I will look to you without hesitation the next time a need arises.
Prosworked as advertised when using loud equipment. have not used them while shooting.
Cons Rubber tips that are inserted into the ear canal are hard and stiff and hurt my ears after a few minutes.
By Mike
San Dimas
They work
August 10, 2020
They work but aren't As nice as my previous sonics.
ProsPrice. Style.
ConsFit
By Jim W.
Denton, TEXAS
Shooter Ear plugs
August 1, 2020
I have been using these plugs for over 20 years you won't find any better.
ProsThe Best.
ConsNothing negative
By Terry U.
Very happy with them
August 14, 2019
Very happy with them
By deb D.
I am not happy with these at all. I loved the originals ...
June 2, 2019
I am not happy with these at all. I loved the originals , but these are harder and do not conform to my eat canales like the others did. I am now searching for new ear valves that will work and be comfortable.
By Steve P.
The new product is not nearly as effective as your original ...
January 21, 2019
The new product is not nearly as effective as your original product. I had a pair of your originals and lost them, and re-ordered for that reason. The price is great, but the product quality has slipped significantly. I am a retired Mechanical Engineer, and used my original set for shooting and at work.
By Wayne B.
Years ago when I was building water towers I bought a pair...
July 16, 2018
Years ago when I was building water towers I bought a pair of sonic Ear Valves. They worked great while working around constant hammering inside the tanks. Bought a pair of new valves a few weeks ago. The effectiveness of the new valves is far less than the old.
By Glenn
I have used this product for a number of years; which I had ...
March 19, 2018
I have used this product for a number of years; which I had decided to purchase a replacement ear plug should the time arise for an additional ear plug. But the funny thing about this is that this company cancelled my order of 3 sonic plugs. Which I found out about it when I checked on the order after a month and contacted the company. Then a week later, I received an email from this company to rate this item??????
By C T.
Have used these for many years. Excellen...
February 24, 2018
Have used these for many years. Excellent for field or range. Combined with proper headphones at the range you are bullet proof.
By George T.
I got a pair while I was in the Armyin...
November 19, 2017
I got a pair while I was in the Armyin 1978 and still have them but I guess the battery ran dry. So Iā€™m thinking about buying a new pair.
By Ron M.
Outstanding product, priced right and shipped fast !!
April 9, 2017
Outstanding product, priced right and shipped fast !!
By Dennis P.
I have owned the early versions of these and that is what...
February 20, 2017
I have owned the early versions of these and that is what prompted me to buy them. I shot 100 rounds of sporting clays and they worked perfectly. No bulky ear muffs to get in the way. Great product.
By John G.
This is a good product. Thanks for carrying them!
February 10, 2017
This is a good product. Thanks for carrying them!
By Parker l.
Probably about 35 years ago I purchased two pairs of the...
February 8, 2017
Probably about 35 years ago I purchased two pairs of the sonics and have used them from then to now and wasn't sure how they were holding up so when I saw these on the internet I decided to purchase two more pairs of them and did. Last Thursday evening I took them to the range with me and I was sorely disappointed. Even though they were new they weren't very effective. Actually, what I had to do was put on my overhead hearing protectors in addition to the sonic valves, to deaden the sound of the 9mm and .45 pistol so that I could continue with the match. They were no better than my originals as I put them on and ran the same test. My rating on them is about a 2 for effectiveness and that's really disappointing...I should only have purchased one pair rather than two. Parker Leach
By John A.
Had the originals and loved them. I got the new ones and...
December 5, 2016
Had the originals and loved them. I got the new ones and they do not work as well. I was around people firing AR15's and 7 mags and it was like having no ear protection at all. I was holding my hands over my ears and could still hear. I regret now buying 2 pair. Sorry but I would not recommend
By Fritz
These are must haves for me to shoot. Been using this type ...
October 10, 2016
These are must haves for me to shoot. Been using this type in conjunction with muffs for decades. I lost my old pair, so I bought these. They are not as comfortable as my old pair, but get the job done. Using these and muffs make shooting comfortable, particularly since I shoot magnum hand guns a lot. You always have protection if you keep in your ears from your neighbors blast, but you can still hear what is going on. Also, they are great for when shooting suppressed. Just that bit of protection needed.
By Bob T.
I had a pair of these back in the 1990 to 2000 period they...
May 18, 2016
I had a pair of these back in the 1990 to 2000 period they were great. I lost them and couldn't find any to replace them. I happened to see these online and bought them. This product is not the same they hurt the ears and do not reduce the noise level very much. I am a range safety officer and I get to see all different kinds this is not one I would recommend.
By Big M.
I've been using the Sonic Valve earplugs...
May 3, 2016
I've been using the Sonic Valve earplugs for quite a few years now. When bird hunting you can almost forget they are in yours giving some noise protection.
By tom b.
i don't go hunting without them. they seem to work as i do...
January 14, 2016
i don't go hunting without them. they seem to work as i do not get my bell rung when my buddy shoots in the duck blind. i wish they could be a little softer though as they can be uncomfortable on a long hunt
By Lew D.
Valve body good. The rubber could be a...
December 6, 2015
Valve body good. The rubber could be a lot softer. This new version is very hard. Still a good product
By Paul S.
These are hard to find, but worth the...
October 16, 2015
These are hard to find, but worth the look. I like the idea of hearing conversation and directions from other shooters, but being protected from muzzle blast.
By Dennis L.
I find that the rubber isn't as soft as the pair I got in...
June 29, 2015
I find that the rubber isn't as soft as the pair I got in the 90's but they work just as well. Would be nice if they came in different sizes my new ones feal bigger but if you wet them a little before you put them in there ok. For the price can't go wrong I think I paid more in the old days.
By Don W.
Great for hunting ducks when you need to hear to call. Good for skeet and trap as well... 5 stars
November 12, 2014
Great for hunting ducks when you need to hear to call. Good for skeet and trap as well... 5 stars
By Ron
Can only give them a FAIR. Still allow ...
October 13, 2014
Can only give them a FAIR. Still allow a lot of gunshot sound to enter the ear when shooting Skeet, Trap, Pistol Range.
By Joe
These are great earplugs at a great price!
September 10, 2014
These are great earplugs at a great price!
By scott
I still have an old set of the north sonic II ear plugs...
April 10, 2014
I still have an old set of the north sonic II ear plugs from the mid 1990's that still work great. these new one are just not as good as the old ones. Gun blasts are still loud. douse not seem to block much sound at all. These new ear plugs are not as comfortable as the old ones. They claim to be using softer material on these new ones. my old ones are softer than the new ones. I'm not real happy with the new ones.
By Del F.
I like the noise filter. As a musician, and one who suffers ...
March 6, 2014
I like the noise filter. As a musician, and one who suffers from tinnitus, the valve reduces the decibels and you still get a reasonable frequency range. The problem for me is the plug. They are too large for my ear canals. If I insert them to the point that they seal, it is extremely painful. I have had two different pairs, and experimented cutting off the tips at different lengths. They sill work somewhat, but not as well as they could or should. It would be nice if the plugs came in smaller sizes, to accomodate more shapes of ear canals. Until that happens, I would not purchase another pair of these.
By Bernard K.
I have used these ear plugs for many...
March 3, 2014
I have used these ear plugs for many years. They work great and I have never had a problem with them.
By Nathan
I have had tinnitus all my life, I have been using these...
January 23, 2014
I have had tinnitus all my life, I have been using these for 15 years. I am grateful to find such a great product. It does not change conversation levels, but protects me from sharp and high pitch noises that is very painful to me. I wish they would bring back the "skin" coloured plugs, but I still buy these. Best price too, I used to pay $25 a pair for these.
By T O.
they are perfect!
January 13, 2014
they are perfect!
By Big M.
I have used these and the older version from Norton for...
December 23, 2013
I have used these and the older version from Norton for many years. I have recently tried a few other so called sonic or sound regulated earplugs and have been totally disappointing. Most were worse than plain foam plugs. These aren't for a constant noise like a mower, but for loud noises that come like a gunshot or another bang they work well. Comfortable to wear hunting. Work very well under a set of ear muffs for the best protection. Great product
By Muleskinner
I have used these ear plugs for years, at least 40 years...
December 16, 2013
I have used these ear plugs for years, at least 40 years, with total comfort. I have used them around loud machinery, at shooting competitions, while sawing wood, and at sports events. I rely on nothing else to protect my hearing and at 65 my hearing is doing just fine.
By Chas2194
Been bying them for over 40 years...
November 22, 2013
Been bying them for over 40 years, shooting clays. Purchased 6 sets for my buddies for also perfer not to use the muffs.
By john
Very good seller. Thank you
October 7, 2013
Very good seller. Thank you
By GE
Haven't used them on the range yet, only in a very noisy...
September 10, 2013
Haven't used them on the range yet, only in a very noisy environment - work well. They fit as well as I remember from using them extensively on the range in the early 60's - just need to warm up to body temp to form to the ear canal.
By DC
The wife has been using E-A-R earplugs (the yellow ones on...
August 21, 2013
The wife has been using E-A-R earplugs (the yellow ones on the blue cord) and was constantly taking them out between stations or when getting some instruction. I have some custom molded ones with the original Sonic Valve that I've had for 20+ years and love 'em, so before popping for custom molded ones for her, I figured I'd let her try these. She loves these and during an entire round of sporting and some time at a couple of practice stations afterwards, she hadn't taken them out once....and isn't sure she wants to get the molded ones now. :-)
By jrb
Always liked these type plugs instead...
July 29, 2013
Always liked these type plugs instead of ear muffs. Had 2 pair from a while back that needed replacing and these are just the thing.
By Albert
I used a set of these many years ago and they were great...
July 13, 2013
I used a set of these many years ago and they were great. This new set doesn't seem to work as well. Loud gun blast come through. These plugs aren't as good as the previous set. You would think with advances in technology they would be a whole lot better.
By Ron S.
I'm a NSCA sporting clays, skeet and trap instructor and...
May 21, 2013
I'm a NSCA sporting clays, skeet and trap instructor and they work great for me since I still can hear the student but protect my ears when they shoot. I used them back in the 80's & 90's when I was shooting ATA and PITA trap and I think the new ones are just as good as back then, I keep at least three pair of new pairs in my shooting bag for new shooters and new shooters love them...(PULL)
By Mike
I started using these in the late 70's for handgun and...
April 12, 2013
I started using these in the late 70's for handgun and shotgun sound protection.I would not be without them.They can be worn all day long and let your ears breathe while providing excellent protection from muzzle blast.
By Longgunner
The best ten dollars you'll ever spend. They're better than ...
April 9, 2013
The best ten dollars you'll ever spend. They're better than the muffs that let you hear because they don't bump the stock when you shoulder the firearm and they even reduce the noise of short barreled handguns. I bought 4 pairs for my brothers-in-law, my son and myself and we TESTED them with various firearms. They work AND they're comfortable.
By Tim
They seem to work fine trying these before custom molded set
March 6, 2013
They seem to work fine trying these before custom molded set
By Joe
I've had Sonic Ear filters for years. I ...
February 4, 2013
I've had Sonic Ear filters for years. I wear them at work. It was a good price on Health Enterprises ACU-LIFE Shooter's Ear Plugs (Sonic Valve II) (NRR 18).
By Sam M.
Great noise reduction just like my old...
December 19, 2012
Great noise reduction just like my old pair of Norton II's. Only downside is the nylon material iisn't as pliable as the rubber used by Norton II's.

Page 1 of 2
1